DRAFT PENDING COMMITTEE APPROVAL AD HOC COMMITTEE FOR ELEMENTARY ENROLLMENTS MINUTES April 25, 2017

Tredyffrin/Easttown Administrative Offices **6:30 p.m.**

Attending all or part of the meeting:

Board Committee Members: Virginia Lastner (Chair), Roberta Hotinski, Todd Kantorczyk, Katharine Murphy

Other Board Members: Douglas Carlson, Scott Dorsey, Ed Sweeney

TE School District Representatives: Wendy Towle (Administrative Liaison), Richard Gusick, Oscar Torres, Pat Gately

Community Members: Doug Anestad, Xavier Arnault, Jeff Bubnis, Amanda Clark, Jerry Henige, Beth Hixson, DeVita Jones, Kristin McElvogue, Katja Myers, Laurie Nishimura, Tracy Przybylowski, Laura Reilly, Phyllis Rohn, Carrie Sarmento, Pete Simon, Alison Troy, Tracy Viola, Tina Whitlow

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m.

Public Comment:

Doug Anestad commented on the **Review of the April 4, 2017 meeting minutes.** Xavier Arnault commented on the **Review of the April 4, 2017 meeting minutes.**

Pete Simon commented on **What Principles Informed the Decision to Redistrict.**Xavier Arnault commented on **What Principles Informed the Decision to Redistrict.**

Laura Reilly commented on Which Schools Will Be Involved in Redistricting.
Carrie Sarmento commented on Which Schools Will Be Involved in Redistricting.
Tracy Przybylowski commented on Which Schools Will Be Involved in Redistricting.
Tracy Viola commented on Which Schools Will Be Involved in Redistricting.
Xavier Arnault commented on Which Schools Will Be Involved in Redistricting.
Doug Anestad commented on Which Schools Will Be Involved in Redistricting.
Beth Hixson commented on Which Schools Will Be Involved in Redistricting.

Tracy Przybylowski commented on **Criteria That Was Considered for Balancing Attendance Areas.**

Tracy Viola commented on Criteria That Was Considered for Balancing Attendance Areas. Jerry Henige commented on Criteria That Was Considered for Balancing Attendance Areas. Xavier Arnault commented on Criteria That Was Considered for Balancing Attendance Areas.

No one commented on Composition of Redistricting Committee.

Xavier Arnault commented on **Timeline for Redistricting.**Laura Reilly commented on **Timeline for Redistricting.**Beth Hixson commented on **Timeline for Redistricting.**Doug Anestad commented on **Timeline for Redistricting.**Tracy Przybylowski commented on **Timeline for Redistricting.**Phyllis Rohn commented on **Timeline for Redistricting.**

Approval of Minutes:

The Committee approved the April 4, 2017 minutes.

Committee Discussion and Recommendations:

The Committee reviewed topics and outcomes of the April 4, 2017 meeting.

The Committee discussed **What Principles Informed the Decision to Redistrict.** Dr. Wendy Towle, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, Staff Development, and Planning, outlined the principles for the committee and community members, including: the implementation of the Elementary Blueprint for Instruction should be equitable and consistent across all five elementary schools; the Elementary Blueprint for Instruction should not be modified as a response to the imbalance in student enrollment; the elementary enrollment for the coming five years does not appear to correct the current building enrollment disparities; redistributing students to schools that have capacity is a cost effective solution and would allow flexibility in responding to future enrollment experience.

The Committee reviewed **Which Schools Will be Involved in Redistricting.** Dr. Wendy Towle, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, Staff Development, and Planning, explained that demographic projections for 2017-2018 indicate that Beaumont Elementary School, Devon Elementary School, and Hillside Elementary School all fall outside of the target range for the number of students in Elementary Schools in the District, and therefore should be involved in the redistricting plan. The committee also discussed the demographic changes in the District and the impact on student enrollment at the Elementary Schools.

The Committee discussed **Criteria to be Considered for Balancing Attendance Areas.** Dr. Wendy Towle, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, Staff Development, and Planning, reviewed the current criteria, including: numbers of students (target range for District Elementary Schools is 450-500 students); transportation routes; contiguous neighborhoods; proximity to attending schools; and reasonably shaped districts. The committee discussed additional criteria and considerations for future addition to the list, in order to inform the Redistricting Committee.

The Committee discussed **Composition of Redistricting Committee**, including: School Board Members, administrative staff, parents, an external facilitator, and consultants (demographer, transportation supervisor, etc.). The committee also discussed additional options for the composition of the Redistricting Committee.

The Committee discussed the **Timeline for Redistricting**, including the following topics: the responsibilities and composition of the Redistricting Committee, the separation of the redistricting plan from the student transition plan, the collection of community input, and the distribution of information and updates to the community. The committee determined that developing the 2018-2019 student transition plan will be the responsibility of the District administration.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

Future meeting date: May 4, 2017 Time: 6:30-8:30 pm

Location: TEAO